January 17, 2019: MARI Annual Meeting

On Thursday, January 17 at 6:30 PM in St. Andrews Parish Hall in the 8000 block of Zimple Street, MARI will hold its annual meeting. We are expecting Councilmember Joe Giarrusso, Commander Jennifer Dupree of the 2nd District and Lauren Jardell, Tulane's Community Relations Director, to speak.  A light supper will be served. Please join us for a discussion of neighborhood issues.

Parks Millage Forum Monday January 14

Carrollton Area Network in collaboration with the Audubon Nature Institute and Committee for Better New Orleans has organized a listening session / forum to get citizen input on the proposed millage for parks. The event will take place on  Monday Jan 14, 2019 at 6:30pm in St. Mary’s Dominican HS - Cafeteria.

Council to Vote on New Short Term Rental Rules January 10, 2019

The Council may limit STRs to residences where the operator holds a homestead exemption.

You can write the Council by using this email string: hnmoreno@nola.gov; avtuozzolo@nola.gov; jasonwilliams@nola.gov; kdlampkin@nola.gov; Joseph.Giarrusso@nola.gov; tgmcleod@nola.gov; Jay.Banks@nola.gov; Jarvis.Lewis@nola.gov; Kristin.Palmer@nola.gov; Andrew.Sullivan@nola.gov; councildistrictd@nola.gov; jahawkins@nola.gov; Cyndi.Nguyen@nola.gov; tguerin@nola.gov

Carrollton Courthouse at HDLC Wednesday January 9, 2019 at 1:30 PM

The proposal to redevelop the Carrollton Courthouse into a senior living project will be before the HDLC in Council Chambers on Wednesday, January, 2019. If you want to submit written comments to the HDLC, email them to acpernas@nola.gov.

Lens Article on Short Term Rentals

Writer and Carrollton Resident Roberta Gratz has written an article for the Lens about short-term rentals. Gratz, who has written several books on urban planning, including "We're Still Here Ya Bastards" about the post-Katrina recovery, says, “What ruined the Quarter as a community now threatens the whole city.”